Hardy Heron: Day 1, Part 2

April 20, 2008 at 18:33 | Posted in Tech | Comments Off on Hardy Heron: Day 1, Part 2
Tags: , , , , , ,

Well a few minor bugs are showing up.. but as this is still a release candidate I’m not going to complain. Currently, I have to unplug my webcam when rebooting for some reason or it and part of the system get badly hung up. (it works like a charm if I plug it in after booting). Also, kqemu seems unstable now. Again not a biggie for me as my processor doesn’t support virtualization anyway so the speed increase using kqemu wasn’t huge.

For those interested you can find the specs on my hardware here.

I am very impressed with all the work that has been done to make the User Interface nice to use and many of the applications have some much appreciated upgrades

.

Things I like:

Totem has grown up a lot with the addition of DVD support (though not menus yet as far as i can see). it has nice search features and even a youtube plug-in

Totem with YouTube plug-in

Vino, aka Remote Desktop not sports “advanced” features and they are much appreciated ones like encryption and custom port selection.

Vino advanced Preferences

The system monitor also has a snazzy new look

Gnome System Monitor

There are too many other improvements that I will go into.. but some of them are for applications I use that aren’t in the just installed it, bare bones install so I’ll go into them in a separate post.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

