Throttling fight continues

April 26, 2008 at 11:55 | Posted in Tech | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

The fight between Bell Canada and CAIP (Canadian Association of Internet Providers) continues. Michael Geist has an excellent blog entry on it here.

Like many people I am watching this one closely. If the CRTC does decide to look into the throttling issue, which would be their next step if an injunction is granted, it could spell big problems for other ISP like Rogers that have been throttling for years. I’d like to see provisions that made DPI (deep packet inspection) by ISPs illegal

3 Comments

  1. I too would rightfully like to see the provisions that made DPI (deep packet inspection) by ISPs to be made illegal not just by the CRTC but also by the federal government now too, including by Bell , the Big Brother’s false invasion of our home, personal privacy. Since we can readily know that the reasons given for the internet downloading inspections, capping are unjustifiable, what are the actual reasons now for these online now inspections too?

    http://thenonconformer.wordpress.com

  2. I must say I am still rightfully really unhappy with my past years of experiences with my Bell Sympatico ISP services , their DSL Service and DSL modem included. I had joined Bell Sympatico because they had advertised to me, all a high speed, unlisted, unlimited downloads and with no capping of their downloads. And had I known beforehand that I would have all of the many unacceptable problems with them, and I would also also have their RATHER poor support on all of this next to, plus their dishonest billing, management practices too, I really would not have bothered to GET THEIR Internet services even initially ..

    I knew that there was something wrong with my Bell Sympatico ISP cause when I had started to measure it their internet download speeds and their the torrent download speeds fluctuated , were low and the torrents were also capped by 90 percent between peak times 4 pm till 2 am by Bell Sympatico which was all absurd, the torrent download speed was as slow as 15 kbs and not rather what I had by Bell in in the past of 250 to 350 kbs as well during peak hours. Bell for 6 months had lied to me and said the problems were related to my own computer and software when it next turns out undeiably this was never so too.

    Bell Sympatico next was unable in 18 months to resolve my problem, they replaced my modem 7 times, sent me 7 repairmen to my home as well.. and yet in one day my new ISP, DSL supplier was able to resolve it.. Not only was Bell Sympatico not delivering to me regularly their promised high speeds on their high speed internet, but I was also having major internet connectivity site problems and email problems and too often, and I was unable to concurrently use my torrent downloads, email software, and my internet browser. It was all getting to be so unacceptably absurd too. Bell wrongfully, clearly had not lived up to it’s promised contractual obligations.

    The MS operating system was made for multitasking, even on the net, but with Bell Sympatico I clearly, wrongfully was unable to do this as well. Bell had even recommend that I shut down my torrent software when I wanted to use my email or browse the internet. And yes I too was really upset to find out that Bell was still capping my bit torrent downloads.. email, etc.,,

    Bell Sympatico itself next had did me a great favor by cutting off my poor services with them

    but Acanac had next offered an effective solution for it.. and also very much cheaper as well, all at the same speeds too.. “Acanac Residential High Speed ADSL without any Limits No Blocked Ports or Traffic Shapping, Unlimited Downloading 100 GB of Online Storage Up to 5 Mbps Download and 800 Kbps Upload $18.95 per month This offer is only available on a 1 year term and the first year of service” sales@acanac.com

    Upon further advice from the net
    I set my Torrent settings to:
    -16 kBps upload instead of 60 kbs or more
    -500 kbs (not unlimited download)
    -tcpip.sys patched to 50 connections
    -I do have firewall disabled,
    Now I’m even downloading with 400 kbs and yes… the torrents I do use are selected do have many seeds and few peers.. so I am sure I can reach the maximum speed.

    > Dear paul kambulow,
    >Yes Bell is capping all service providers on their phone lines using bit torrents.
    >The official workaround can be found at http://community.acanac.com/acanac/viewtopic.php?t=5903
    >If you have any more questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.
    >Best Regards,
    > Acanac-Inc Sales

  3. > Dear paul kambulow,
    >Yes Bell is capping all service providers on their phone lines using bit torrents.
    >The official workaround can be found at http://community.acanac.com/acanac/viewtopic.php?t=5903
    >If you have any more questions or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.
    >Best Regards,
    > Acanac-Inc Sales


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

