A Couple Quick Points of Interest

April 30, 2008 at 11:38 | Posted in Life | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

A couple of thing I find interesting.. and just wanted to Blog about quickly.

First.. there is this news about Microsoft screwing over all those that bought DRM’d music on their MSN music store. Seems keeping the licensing server running is more “trouble” (Read cost) then it is worth. This is one of the main reasons I’ve always been dead against DRM. loose the license.. loose the media you legally bought.

I’ve been around computers long enough to know that almost no-one will maintain infrastructure for a format that is out of date. Microsoft had to know this too.. So in my eye’s this is just big time manufactured obsolescence. Other reasons I’m against it.. Well that will have to be the topic of a longer post because the reasons are many, none of which include.. “because then I cant copy it illegally”

Secondly, Philippe Gauthier had an interesting post on his blog this morning that re-acquainted me with the work of Noam Chomsky. The clip is definitely worth a listen and Noam Chomsky’s page is worth looking at too.

1 Comment

  1. Noam is one of the few true intellectuals of our time, thanks for the mention!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

