Cuil?

July 28, 2008 at 16:22 | Posted in Tech | Comments Off on Cuil?
Tags: , , , , ,

People are asking will Cuil kill Google. My answer is.. Not any time soon. why? check out these search comparisons:

Google search for Cuil

Google searches Cuil

Google searches Cuil

Cuil search for Cuil

Cuil searches Cuil

Cuil searches Cuil

or

Google searches tr2n

Google searches Tr2n

Google searches Tr2n

Cuil searches tr2n

Cuil searches Tr2n

Cuil searches Tr2n

Even though News articles quote Cuil as claiming that they won’t store searches.. they currently have no Privacy policy on their site. So, until I see a detailed privacy policy on their site I am assuming that they are leaving the door open. Apparently a lot of people have invested a lot of money into Cuil.com and they are going to want to see a return.. So Cuil needs to figure out how it’s going to make money and make it’s investors happy.. and that often means idealistic ideas going out the window.

My overall take, unless Cuil starts offering up more recent, currently relevant, search results they will fall by the wayside.. things change very quickly in the web 2.0 world. Today’s hot search term is dead and forgotten 3 days from now. The wonder of Google is that it keeps up.. if I hear there is new buzz about Tr2n or Cuil.. I can find it on Google. Cuil doesn’t seen to have this going for it (yet) and I suspect that this will frustrate many potential users.

As for the “Not storing searches”, I’ll believe it when I see it in a privacy policy on their site (and when it has been independently verified). I think the lack of a privacy policy on their page when they launch is a clear indication that things are in flux.

—– Update Cuil adds privacy policy.. I’m reading it now (Mon Jul 28 19:55:06 UTC 2008) —-

O.K. congrats to Cuil.. their Privacy policy VERY clearly states that they do not store or track searches or searchers. KUDOS guys.. I still think the relevance of searches needs work tho.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

