Towards a Free (as in speech) system – (or Flash Reduced diet #3)

July 25, 2009 at 13:14 | Posted in Life, Tech, XO | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

It seems that one of the side effects of my Flash reduced diet is a desire to get away from all restricted formats. In looking back I can see that this journey actually began when I got my OLPC XO during last years Give 1 Get 1 program. As I progress on this journey I am stripping away more and more of my reliance on restricted/patent encumbered formats. I am also working hard to rid my systems of any Proprietary binary blobs or software with restrictive or anti-social licenses. I have cleaned up Ubuntu on my main laptop as much as I can and am now looking into replacing Ubuntu with gNewSense. The main stumbling block to doing so is the fact that my main laptop is my Asterisk/Voip centre and I’ll have to do the re-install at a time when there would be no incoming calls.

The thing that has surprised me is how little has broken. As I mentioned in my previous postings on Flash reduction things definitely do break, but nothing that I couldn’t easily live without.

My biggest concern was dropping restricted kernel modules as I feared that some of my hardware may cease to function. As it turns out I have been quite good at buying hardware that is fully supported by open source software. My next concern was that I might have trouble with Various media types but again nothing significant broke I can still watch the CBC news at night just fine. I did loose mplayer, VLC, and Avidemux that I had come to depend on but they have been replaced with other tools that do not have the licensing complications of those applications. I have managed to completely do away with the multiverse repositories on my main laptop.

My next challenge will be to do the same on the XO. This may be challenging as the XO is shipped with proprietary kernel modules for the wireless card. and I suspect the Video will be problematic. My Ultimate goal will be to get gNewSense on my main laptop and then work on porting it to the XO. It may well be worth the effort of porting to the XO even if the wireless doesn’t work as one can always add an external wireless card that is supported by Free software.

3 Comments

  1. […] but it definitely has more “perky” feel then Ubuntu Jaunty did. As I mentioned in my previous post moving to all Libre (or “free as in speech”) software has had a few challenges. I […]

  2. Love reading your reports on going flash-free and completely free. It’s an inspiration to me, as it’s something I’m considering as well.

    I’d love to see a complete report on what software you’re using for everything (and how it’s working out for each), as well as what flash sites you can’t access that you miss (or don’t miss), and what you’re using to replace the Google software/services you’ve dropped. It would be really helpful.

    • Such a post is coming very soon. After my recent move of becoming completely Google Free, (I deleted my Google account), several people have expressed an interest in hearing about what Software I’m using to replace the services that Google offers. That has led to a couple of re-writes of what was originally just going to be a “Woohoo, I’m finally Google Free!!” post. I hope to have it up sometime tomorrow.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

