Google’s disingenious DNS offering

December 5, 2009 at 23:00 | Posted in Privacy/Security, Tech, thoughts | Comments Off on Google’s disingenious DNS offering
Tags: , , , ,

I saw an announcement about Goggle offering DNS and wandered over to see what value-added scheme they had come up with. To my surprise at present it is a very vanilla DNS offering. A modern implementation of DNS to be sure but still very vanilla.

Don’t get me wrong. Vanilla is what you want in a DNS. Landing Pages and other “features” are seen as a broken DNS offering by many in the tech field (a good old NX domain will do nicely thank-you).

So, I found myself pondering.. If Google isn’t offering anything new why offer DNS. The answer is simple and obvious. TRACKING.

The moment you log in to a Google property they know who you are and can associate your IP address with your account. Heck if you are the type to click the “Remember me” or “keep me logged-in” buttons you don’t even have to log into a Google property any page with google-analytics can probably read the Google cookie and bang… Google knows your IP address and can tie it to your account.

Now if you go ahead and use their DNS server they can see that the DNS request came from your IP address which they can associate with your account and thus they will know EVERYWHERE you go on the web.

But wait.. there’s more. DNS is used by more than just the browser. They will know what messenger you use and how many hours you ran it for. If you are using a SIP client. What E-mail servers you use. How often you check them. If you are running Skype. What P2P software you use. What software on your system is checking for updates and how often. The list goes on and on.

I have become increasingly leery of Google and their pervasive tracking over the years. For me this is a step to far and shows Google’s real intention to try and track everyone everywhere. (Chromium O/S is just more of this tracking madness).

A while ago I wrote about kicking the Google habit. Now I think it is time for me and anyone that values their privacy to kick Google to the curb. My Gmail account will be set to auto respond to people to inform them of my new Address and after a week or two it will be shut down. I am going to close my Google account permanently and I’m going to file a formal request to have all my info deleted.

I hope that others do the same. It is time to stop the invasion of our lives in the name of profit. I refuse to sell my soul for a few value added treats. You should too.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

